Richard Serra

 
O. I. C., 1999

O. I. C., 1999


Steel, massive, 2 blocks

80 x 96 x 112 cm each

weight: 7 tons each


The two steel blocks are installed facing each other on the centre axis of the chapel of the Sylvesterkapelle. With one block positioned upright on the narrow side and the other one lying on the wide side, the exact measures are not directly visible. This irritation leads to a constant tension. 

 
TOT, 1977

TOT, 1977


Solid Steel, 210 x 2010 x 30 cm
weight approx. 10 tons

This inclined slab ingot of rolled steel defines the space of the inner courtyard that was specially created for the sculpture. Partially sunk into the ground, the slab stands parallel to the window of the inner courtyard in full view of the open-plan exhibition area: no visitor can make his way through the exhibition without seeing Serra's TOT.

 
Circuit, 1972/89

Circuit, 1972/89

 

 

Massive rolled steel, 4 steel plates

354 x 796 x 3.2 cm each

 

The structure, in which the circuit is installed, was built especially for this artifice. A first version of the work in which the size of the steel plates were different, was realized at the Documenta 5, 1972 in Kassel. Another version, again of a different size is to be found in the Museum of Modern Art in New York.

 
Circuit, 1972/89

"I am interested in sculptures which do not serve the principal of usability, sculptures without a function. Using is always abusing. They often accuse abstract art of not having socially significant messages. I have always thought that art does not need an external justification ... I am aware of the fact that there is no audience for sculptures ... But there is a huge audience for products which give the people what they want, and what they – as it is insinuated – need, and which do not offer more than what the audience can understand."

 

Richard Serra

 
Circuit, 1972/89

Born 1939 in San Francisco, USA.

Lives and works in New York, and Nova Scotia, Canada.

Sie sind hier: Richard Serra

Richard Serra

 
O. I. C., 1999

O. I. C., 1999


Stahl massiv, 2 Blöcke
je 80 x 96 x 112 cm

Gewicht je 7 t

Die beiden Stahl-Blöcke sind einander gegenüber auf der Mittelachse des Kapellenraumes der im Park von Haus Weitmar gelegenen Sylvesterkapelle aufgestellt. Da der eine Block aufrecht auf der schmalen Seite steht und der andere auf der breiten Seite liegt, lassen sich die identischen Maße in der Anschauung kaum erkennen – aus dieser Irritation entsteht eine anhaltende Spannung.

 
TOT, 1977

TOT, 1977


Stahl massiv, 210 x 210 x 30 cm
Gewicht ca 10 t

Die schräg aufgestellte Bramme aus Walzstahl definiert den Raum des eigens für die Skulptur geschaffenen Innenhofes. Die leicht schräg in den Boden abgesenkte Bramme steht parallel zum Fenster des Innenhofs im Sichtfeld des geöffneten Ausstellungsbereichs: Betrachter, die dem Ausstellungsrundgang folgen, kommen an Serras TOT nicht vorbei.

 
Circuit, 1972/89

Circuit, 1972/89


Walzstahl massiv, 4 Stahlplatten
je 354 x 796 x 3,2 cm

Der Baukörper, in dem Circuit installiert ist, wurde speziell für dieses Werk gebaut. Eine erste Fassung des Werkes mit anderen Abmessungen der Stahlplatten wurde auf der documenta 5, 1972 in Kassel realisiert. Mit wiederum veränderten Maßen befindet sich eine Fassung im New Yorker Museum of Modern Art.

 
Circuit, 1972/89

"Ich bin an Skulptur interessiert, die sich nicht dem Nützlichkeitsprinzip unterwirft, an Skulptur ohne Funktion. Jeder Gebrauch ist Missbrauch. Abstrakte Kunst wird heute häufig beschuldigt, sozial nicht bedeutungswirksam zu sein. Ich war und bin der Auffassung, dass Kunst keiner Rechtfertigung von außen bedarf ... ich bin mir bewusst, dass es kein Publikum für Skulptur gibt ... Es gibt jedoch ein großes Publikum für solche Produkte, die den Leuten geben, was sie wollen und - wie unterstellt wird - brauchen, und die nicht mehr anbieten, als das Publikum in der Lage ist zu verstehen."

 
Richard Serra

 
Circuit, 1972/89

Geb. 1939 in San Francisco, USA

Lebt und arbeitet in New York, USA und Nova Scotia, Kanada