Compound

Situation Kunst was designed as a museum quality art ensemble, which also creates a synthesis of architecture, nature and art. Adjacent to the park of the Weitmar House, the system works within the natural, scenic, and historical context of its surroundings, but also asserts itself in contrast to the existing environment by defining itself as a separate site.

 

 
Plan Situation Kunst and park with ruins

The surrounding park is characterized by its very old and majestic trees including beech, oak, yew, chestnut, and redwood trees, some well over 400 years old. Younger specimens of these tree varieties are also to be found on the grounds of Situation Kunst.

Originally built in 1592, today the ruins “Haus Weitmar” still show characteristics of Westphalian Renaissance architecture. On May 13, 1943 the structure was partially destroyed by an air raid. Today, the newest extension of Situation Kunst, called KUBUS grows out of the ruins. This newest addition to Situation Kunst was inaugurated in a series of scientific and cultural events in spring of 2010.

 


 

In the immediate neighborhood of Situation Kunst are the ruins of the Sylvester Chapel, first mentioned in an archival document dating to 1397. The chapel features late Romanesque and early Gothic style architecture. After being renovated in the 19th century, it lost its function and fell into disrepair.

 

 

Pool of water and Serra building

Even to the first time visitor the structure of the first part of the museum complex is clearly arranged and immediately visible. The four free-standing buildings are systematically arranged around a dark reflecting pool of water. The inside area of Situation Kunst opens up both topographically and in content on two levels. The structure of the lower level, with the four buildings is based on a 3 x 3 meter module system. This is centrifugally connected to the pool of water at this level with its 3 meters edge lengths. The distance between each building and this collection point are each dividable by 3 meters. Nevertheless the pool is not the geometric center of the lower level, rather a decentralized point of concentration.

 

 

 

The laterally situated access to the building and the lack of roads and signs support the non-hierarchic nature of the landscape and the overall architectural design.

 

Light field in the meadow

The design of the upper level with the 2006 opened extension building and the wild flower meadow follows the module system. Four winter linden (Tilia cordata) trees are planted in a radius of 18 meters around a central light field, which forms a 3 x 3 meter square and serves as a counterpoint to the dark reflecting pool. The four trees were positioned in this way so they would meet in a superposition of the upper and lower levels respectively, symbolizing the foundations of a building structure.

 
Planting Plan Situation Kunst

The cultivation plan of Situation Kunst includes the so called ‘house trees’ which were carefully chosen and individually allocated for each building. These solitary trees, planted in 1987/88, standing as counterpoints to their allocated buildings.

 

The four ‘house tree’ species are listed below:

 

Building with the works of the four European artists:

Ginkgo biloba - Ginkgo

 

Nordman building:

Metasequoia glyptostroboides - redwood forest

 

Rabinowitch building:

Fagus sylvatica Perdula – Beech tree

 

Serra building:

Liriodendron tulipifera - American tulip tree

 

 

 
Bronze casting of the dwarf beech

In April 2012, the area of Situation Kunst has been enriched by a new but already well-known sculptural artefact: Under enormously technical and logistic effort has the bronze casting of the branch of a rare tree, the dwarf tree, been installed.

The original branch, which had been presented in one one the baileys, at the opening of the extension building in 2006, was exposed to weather conditions.

The natural relict with its complex structure was casted by the Noack foundry in Berlin - this way, the fading natural material wood is given new consistency.
 
The 300 to 400 year old dwarf tree of which the branch originated, was situated in the park of Haus Weitmar until its vandalisation by incendiary in 2000. International experts had already predicted a lifetime of another 300 to 400 years to the giant (approximately 35 meters of height and crown volume).The casted bronze branch is hardly to be distinguished from its original. The structure of the surface is just as fine and full of detail as the natural wood.

 

The 300 to 400 year old dwarf tree of which the branch originated, was situated in the park of Haus Weitmar until its vandalisation by incendiary in 2000. International experts had already predicted a lifetime of another 300 to 400 years to the giant (approximately 35 meters of height and crown volume).The casted bronze branch is hardly to be distinguished from its original. The structure of the surface is just as fine and full of detail as the natural wood.

 

 

Architecture

The buildings of Situation Kunst are puristic and functional, allowing the artworks to be presented in an optimal way.

 

 
View on the buildings of the permanent exhibition
View on the Kubus

Three of the four buildings were built at the first stage of construction (1988-1990), and each was developed for a piece of art forming an inseparable unit. These are the environments for the artists Maria Nordman, David Rabinowitch, and Richard Serra. The works themselves provided the conditions under which the building architecture was designed. An adjacent building contains a room featuring the work of European artists Gotthard Graubner, Norbert Kricke, Arnulf Rainer, & Jan J. Schoonhoven.

The buildings of the first stage were planned by the Bochum architect Peter Forth, who died in spring of 1987 during the realization Situation Kunst. The architectural legacy of Peter Forth can be found in the city archives in Bochum.

 

 

 

With the opening of the extension building in September 2006, the total exhibition space nearly doubled. The planning and realization of this building is a credit to the architects Soan Gido Hülsmann and Dirk Boländer from Bochum and Warburg.

In this building you will find works by Ad Reinhardt, Robert Ryman, Jan J. Schoonhoven, Grace YT Tong, Richard Serra, Lee Ufan, François Morellet, & Gianni Colombo, as well as ancient Asian and African art.

 

The extension building KUBUS, opened in May 2010, was designed by the architects Pfeiffer, Ellermann and Preckel from Lüdinghausen and emerges from the ruins of the Weitmar House.

Gelände

Situation Kunst wurde als museales Ensemble aus Architektur, Natur und Kunst konzipiert und grenzt an das Parkgelände von Haus Weitmar. Die Anlage fügt sich in den natürlichen, landschaftlichen und historischen Kontext ihrer Umgebung, behauptet sich aber zugleich im Kontrast zu dieser Umgebung als eigener Ort.

 

 
Plan Situation Kunst und Park mit Ruinen

Der umgebende Park zeichnet sich besonders durch seinen sehr alten und besonderen Baumbestand aus: Blutbuchen, verschiedene Eichenarten, Eiben, Maronen, Mammutbäume u. a. teils weit über 400 Jahre alt, die sich in einigen Fällen in jüngerer Gestalt auf dem Gelände der „Situation Kunst“ wieder finden.

 

Das 1592 als Herrenhaus erbaute „Haus Weitmar“ zeigt noch als Ruine Merkmale westfälischer Renaissancearchitektur. Am 13. Mai 1943 wurde es durch einen Luftangriff zerstört. Seit 2010 ist das Erweiterungsgebäude KUBUS in die Ruine integriert, das u.a. Raum für Wechselausstellungen sowie wissenschaftliche und kulturelle Veranstaltungen bietet.

 

 

 

 

In unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft dazu befindet sich die Ruine der spätromanischen bis frühgotischen Sylvesterkapelle, die erstmals 1397 in einer Urkunde erwähnt wurde. Nachdem sie im 19. Jh. durch eine neue Dorfkirche ersetzt wurde, verlor sie ihre Funktion und verfiel.

 

Wasserbecken und Serra-Gebäude

Die Struktur der ersten Projektstufe der Museums-Anlage ist sofort einsehbar. Vier freistehende Baukörper sind planvoll um ein in die dunkle Ebene eingelassenes Wasserbecken angeordnet. Das Gelände von „Situation Kunst“ erschließt sich sowohl topographisch als auch inhaltlich auf zwei Ebenen. Dem Aufbau der unteren Ebene mit den vier Baukörpern liegt ein 3 x 3 Meter Modulsystem zugrunde. Dieses wird in dem auf dieser Ebene liegenden Wasserbecken mit seinen 3 Metern Kantenlänge als Zentrifugalpunkt zusammengefasst. Die Abstände der einzelnen Baukörper zueinander und zu diesem Sammelpunkt sind jeweils durch 3 Meter teilbar. Das Wasserbecken ist jedoch nicht der geometrische Mittelpunkt der unteren Ebene, sondern ein dezentraler Konzentrationspunkt.

 

 

 

Die seitlich gelegenen Zugänge zu den Gebäuden und der Verzicht auf Wege und Schilder unterstützen ebenfalls den unhierarchischen Charakter der landschaftlichen und architektonischen Gesamtkonzeption.

 

Lichtquadrat in der Wildblumenwiese

Auch die Gestaltung der oberen Ebene mit dem 2006 eröffneten Erweiterungsgebäude und der Wildblumenwiese folgt dem Modulsystem. Die vier Winterlinden (Tilia cordata) sind in einem Radius von 18 Metern um ein zentrales, vor dem Gebäude liegendes Lichtfeld gepflanzt, das als 3 x 3 Meter großes Quadrat ein Pendant zu dem unteren schwarzen Wasserbecken bildet. Die 4 Bäume sind auf diesem Radius so positioniert, dass sie bei einem Übereinanderlegen der oberen und unteren Ebene jeweils die Grundmauern eines Baukörpers treffen würden.

 
Bepflanzungsplan Situation Kunst

Den jeweiligen Baukörpern der unteren Ebene wurden „Hausbäume“ zugeordnet, deren Gestalt individuell sorgfältig ausgewählt worden ist. Die Solitärbäume, 1987/88 gepflanzt, werden erst in Zukunft einmal die Kraft haben, die Fläche zu halten und den ihnen zugedachten „Gegenpart“ zu den Baukörpern zu erfüllen.

 

Zuordnung der Hausbäume:

 

Gebäude mit den Werkensembles:
Ginko biloba - Gingko

 

Nordman-Gebäude:
Metasequoia glyptostroboides - Urwaldmammutbaum

 

Rabinowitch-Gebäude:
Fagus silvatica Perdula - Hängebuche

 

Serra-Gebäude:
Liriodendron tulipifera - Amerikanischer Tulpenbaum

 

 

 

 
Süntelbuche als Bronzeguss

Im April 2012 wurde das Gelände von Situation Kunst um ein neues, aber bereits altbekanntes skulpturales Artefakt bereichert: Unter enormem technischen und logistischen Aufwand wurde der Bronzeguss des Astes einer seltenen Baumart, der Süntelbuche, aufgestellt.

 

Dem Zweig, der seit der Eröffnung des ersten Erweiterungsbaus 2006 in einem der beiden neben dem Gebäude liegenden Außenhöfe installiert war, wurde zuletzt von der Witterung immer mehr zugesetzt. Das „Naturdenkmal“ mit seinen komplexen Verzweigungen wurde von der Gießerei Noack in Berlin gegossen - dem vergänglichen, natürlichen Material Holz wird so Dauer verliehen.

 

 

 

Die etwa 300-400 Jahre alte Süntelbuche, von der dieser Ast ursprünglich stammt, stand bis zu ihrer mutwilligen Zerstörung im Jahr 2000 durch Brandstifter in dem an Situation Kunst angrenzenden Park von Haus Weitmar. Internationale Baumfachleute hatten seinerzeit dem Giganten (ca. 35 m Höhe und Kronenumfang) eine Lebensdauer von weiteren 300-400 Jahren in Aussicht gestellt. Der gegossene bronzene Ast ist vom Original kaum zu unterscheiden. Die Struktur der Oberfläche ist genauso fein und detailreich wie die des ursprünglichen Holzes.

 

 

Architektur

In Situation Kunst stellt sich die Architektur konsequent in der Dienst der optimalen Präsentation der Kunstwerke; entsprechend puristisch und funktional wurden die Gebäude geplant und realisiert.

 

 
Blick auf die Gebäude der Dauerausstellung von Situation Kunst
Blick auf den Kubus

Drei der vier Gebäude der ersten Baustufe (1988-1990) entstanden jeweils für ein Werk und bilden mit diesem eine untrennbare Einheit. Es handelt sich um die Environments der Künstler Maria Nordman, David Rabinowitch und Richard Serra. Die Werke gaben die Bedingungen vor, nach denen die Architektur sich gestaltete. Ein weiteres Gebäude umfasst je einen Raum mit Werkensembles der europäischen Künstler Gotthard Graubner, Norbert Kricke, Arnulf Rainer und Jan J. Schoonhoven.

Die Gebäude der ersten Baustufe wurden von dem Bochumer Architekten Peter Forth geplant, der während der Realisation des Projektes „Situation Kunst" im Frühjahr 1987 verstarb. Der Nachlass von Peter Forth befindet sich heute im Stadtarchiv Bochum.

 

 

Im September 2006 wurde durch die Eröffnung des Erweiterungsgebäudes mit neuem Sammlungskomplex die Gesamtausstellungsfläche nahezu verdoppelt. Für die Realisation dieses Gebäudes zeichnen die Soan Architekten Gido Hülsmann und Dirk Boländer aus Bochum bzw. Warburg verantwortlich.

In diesem Gebäude befinden sich Arbeiten von Ad Reinhardt, Robert Ryman, Jan J. Schoonhoven, Grace Y. T. Tong, Richard Serra, Lee Ufan, François Morellet und Gianni Colombo sowie alte Kunst aus Asien und Afrika.

 

Das Erweiterungsgebäude KUBUS wurde schließlich nach den Plänen der Architekten Pfeiffer, Ellermann und Preckel aus Münster in der Ruine von Haus Weitmar errichtet und im Mai 2010 eröffnet.